Friday, August 18, 2017

Book Blogger Hop #26



Book Blogger Hop is another post I'm going to be trying out and this one has a topic each week, which is something I've been trying to bring to the blog.  I'm really excited about this one because I have a hard time coming up with something fresh to talk about and I'm hoping this helps.


If you would be interested in doing your own post, please CLICK HERE to learn more about this great hop! 






This Weeks Topic:  

When you enter an unfamiliar house or apartment for the first time, do you feel disappointed if you don't see any bookshelves, or books on the coffee table? (submitted by Maria @ A Night's Dream of Books)
 
Okay so if I am a little disappointed is that weird? LOL! Please tell me I'm not the only one that does this or feels this way.  I feel that if you own books or at least read books then you're more interesting to me, but that's just my opinion! Don't start coming at me with torches for saying so. 
 
 

Tuesday, August 15, 2017

Teaser Tuesday #115



Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Books and a Beat. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:


  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other Teaser Tuesday participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teaser


 The table was sticky, there was a cloudy smudge on my water glass, and we'd been seated for ten minutes with no sign of a waitress. Still, I knew what my dad would say.  By this point, it was part of the routine.












What Happened to Goodbye has been on my shelf for a very long time, I'm super excited to start it! I love author Sarah Dessen's books and I'm pretty sure I'll love this one as well. Hope you all have a great Tuesday and as always...

 

Friday, August 11, 2017

Book Blogger Hop #25







Book Blogger Hop is another post I'm going to be trying out and this one has a topic each week, which is something I've been trying to bring to the blog.  I'm really excited about this one because I have a hard time coming up with something fresh to talk about and I'm hoping this helps.


If you would be interested in doing your own post, please CLICK HERE to learn more about this great hop! 





This Weeks Topic: 

Do you participate in readathons and/or reading challenges? (submitted by Kristin @ Lukten av Trykksverte)
 
I love read-a-thons and reading challenges! I just participated in BookTube-A-Thon last month and always end up getting a lot of reading finished during them. It's a challenge and for some reason it really works for me. Same goes for the reading challenge on Goodreads. It pushes me to read when I see that I'm behind so many books.  

What about you, do you enjoy read-a-thons and reading challenges? 
 


 
 

Wednesday, August 9, 2017

Book Blitz: Any Way You Spin It

NOW LIVE!
Any Way You Spin it
By Monique McDonell

Blurb:
Sometimes you must accept that love doesn’t always show up at your convenience.
Minnie has made mistakes and lots of them. Fresh out of rehab and back in her home town her plan is simple; she needs to make amends to all the people she hurt, especially her children, and get her life back on track. She has no room in her life for men – it was because of men she got in this mess in the first place.
The minute former athlete and current bar owner, Mitch sees Minnie he knows she’s something special. Now all he needs to do is convince her and the whole town that their being together will not undo everything she’s working so hard to achieve.
With all the obstacles to her success can Mitch prove he’s not just one more thing in the way.
If you like long bike rides, picnics by the lake and truffle fries then Any Way You Spin It is for you.

Now Live on Amazon!
http://amzn.to/2uivfP3


Snippet #1 
"Did you get lost again, you live down the hall.”
“No, I brought you some fries.”
“You brought me fries?”
“Truffle fries actually. Sarah said you kind of moaned when she mentioned my truffle fries earlier.”
“She said I moaned about you?’
“About my fries. So, I brought them and myself to your door.”
“Well come on in then, although I don’t recall moaning.” She absolutely did, but he didn’t need to know that.
“Maybe you smiled. I’d rather make you moan than smile, but I’ll take either.”
“And I’ll take the fries.” She held out her hand so he could pass them over.
She lifted one from the bag and took a bite of the crunchy salty goodness and then she really did moan. “Okay mission accomplished, you made me moan, you can leave happy now.”



Snippet #2
Mitch knew it was just a coincidence he’d run into Min. She was one of a handful of people he’d run into today. Moose had jogged past him at the park and invited him to dinner tomorrow night. He’d stopped to get gas and Dave the local policeman was at the other pump and when he’d gone into the diner half the town had been there. And he may have heard Mins name mentioned in whispers more than once. Patty had been holding court with her gaggle of minions. Running into the beautiful woman seated beside him improving the look of his truck exponentially was not destiny, even if it felt like it.
All she’d bought was a small block of cheese. Clearly, she was planning to do something with it.
“What’s the cheese for?’
“Meatballs and spaghetti.” His stomach, the betraying bastard groaned. “I gather you like meatballs.”
“I do. They’re a classic.”
“I’m going to have extra. I’ll drop some over.”
“You don’t need to do that.” His stomach rolled again.
“To say thanks for the bike, and the lift home.” Large raindrops were pelting the windshield now. “I’m pretty happy not to be walking in this.”
He looked over at her. She was looking at him with those baby blues so he couldn’t resist.  “Okay, but how about you eat it with me? It’s kind of sad for us each to be eating alone.”
“Okay. I’ll just come down the hall when I’m done.” The town wasn’t big so he pulled the truck up outside the building minutes later. He stopped under the portico so she could exit without getting wet.
He watched her go, her perfect pear-shaped butt heading in the door and up the stairs. He knew he shouldn’t be looking at that butt or wanting that woman but knowing didn’t stop it from being so.





I am an Australian author who writes contemporary women's fiction including chick lit and romance.
I have written all my life especially as a child when I loved to write short stories and poetry. At University I studied Creative Writing as part of my Communication degree. Afterwards I was busy working in public relations I didn't write for pleasure for quite a few years although I wrote many media releases, brochures and newsletters. (And I still do in my day-job!)

When I began to write again I noticed a trend - writing dark unhappy stories made me unhappy. So I made a decision to write a novel with a happy ending and I have been writing happy stories ever since.
I am the author of five stand alone novels including Mr. Right and Other Mongrels and Hearts Afire and the Upper Crust Series. Many of my novels focus on an Australian characters meeting and visiting US characters.
I have been a member of the writing group The Writer’s Dozen for ten years. Our anthology Better Than Chocolate raised over $10,000 for the charity Room to Read and helped build a library in South East Asia. I am also a member of the Romance Writers of Australia. In 2015 had a piece on writing chicklit featured in the successful Australian non-fiction book Copyfight.
I live on Sydney's Northern Beaches with my husband and daughter.
To learn more about my writing, my caffeine obsession and my upcoming books please visit  www.moniquemcdonell.com.au.



Social Media:
Website - http://moniquemcdonell.weebly.com/
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/MoniqueMcDonellAuthor
Twitter - https://twitter.com/MoniqueMcDonell
Blog - http://moniquemcdonell.weebly.com/blog.html

Tuesday, August 8, 2017

Teaser Tuesday #114




Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Books and a Beat. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:


  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other Teaser Tuesday participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teaser


"Yo, Em! Where's the suntan lotion? I'm about to fry my face off!"  Em snapped back into focus and swung around, squinting as her best friend in the entire world ground to a halt in the sand beside her.











I'm super excited about this book, actually the whole series! I love this author and I'm already enjoying this one and I'm only one the first page. HA HA. Anyway, hope you all have a great Tuesday and as always...

 

Monday, August 7, 2017

It's Monday...What Are You Reading?



This meme started with J Kaye's Blog and then was taken up by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn at the Book Date.  It's a meme where you share what you read last week, what you're currently reading and what you plan on reading that week.



So last week I didn't get much reading done at all, the plan this week is to start several books and get them read. So below is the list of the ones I want to read this week. 


 What I'm Reading Today 





Courted by Jennifer Chance 


"An awesomely fun, modern day fairy tale!” – Lori Foster, NYT bestselling author

Aspiring concert violist Emmaline Aurora Grace Andrews is torn between her love of family and her love of music. A year ago, she deferred entering a prestigious graduate program to help her parents recover from a devastating accident. Now the deferment is expiring, but her parents still need her. Worse, every time she plays her audition piece, she mangles it. Is it too late to be the musician she'd always dreamed of? Should she even try?

Determined to get clarity, Emmaline accepts a friend's offer for a whirlwind European vacation. First Stop: a real live fantasy kingdom—the perfect place to sort wishes from reality.

Prince Kristos Andris was a respected captain in his nation’s military… Was. In the wake of the tragic death of his elder brother, he's managed to avoid his duties as the new Crown Prince of Garronia for months. But now he must accept his responsibilities and leave his troops behind. Outraged at the restrictions of his new royal position, he'll do anything for one last adventure. So when opportunity suddenly lands in his arms in the form of a dreamy-eyed American girl, he embraces it (and her) for all he's worth. What's the harm in a quick fling, after all? It won’t change what he knows he must do…

Only this is Garronia in the summertime, where passion has a way of ruining even the most sensible of plans.



What Else I Plan To Read This Week 







 Who is the real McLean?

Since her parents' bitter divorce, McLean and her dad, a restaurant consultant, have been on the move-four towns in two years. Estranged from her mother and her mother's new family, McLean has followed her dad in leaving the unhappy past behind. And each new place gives her a chance to try out a new persona: from cheerleader to drama diva. But now, for the first time, McLean discovers a desire to stay in one place and just be herself, whoever that is. Perhaps Dave, the guy next door, can help her find out.

Combining Sarah Dessen's trademark graceful writing, great characters, and compelling storytelling, What Happened to Goodbye is irresistible reading.




Brightest Kind of Darkness by P.T. Michelle 
(Haven't finished this one yet so it's still on my list) 


Nara Collins is an average sixteen-year-old, with one exception: every night she dreams the events of the following day. Due to an incident in her past, Nara avoids using her special gift to change fate…until she dreams a future she can’t ignore.

After Nara prevents a bombing at Blue Ridge High, her ability to see the future starts to fade, while people at school are suddenly being injured at an unusually high rate.

Grappling with her diminishing powers and the need to prevent another disaster, Nara meets Ethan Harris, a mysterious loner who seems to understand her better than anyone. Ethan and Nara forge an irresistible connection, but as their relationship heats up, so do her questions about his dark past.



Up Next: 

 The Simplicity of Cider by Amy E. Erichert 
Lucky Strike: Lucky by Cate Beaumont
 



 


Friday, August 4, 2017

Book Blogger Hop #24








Book Blogger Hop is another post I'm going to be trying out and this one has a topic each week, which is something I've been trying to bring to the blog.  I'm really excited about this one because I have a hard time coming up with something fresh to talk about and I'm hoping this helps.


If you would be interested in doing your own post, please CLICK HERE to learn more about this great hop!




This Weeks Topic: 

 Do you ever go "way back" to when you first started blogging and look at your old review posts? Do you see any differences from then to now? (submitted by Elizabeth @ Silver's Reviews)

I have in the past, went back several times and looked over my older posts, I cringe looking back at my first few reviews. I have no structure and they look terrible. I love the structure I have to my reviews now. Funny thing is when I do look at them, I still feel the same way about the books, so I guess that's at least something. So how about you, if you have a blog, do you go back and look at older reviews?

 

Monday, July 31, 2017

Kissing Max Holden Blog Tour: Excerpt and Giveaway


Kissing Max Holden
Katy Upperman

Published by: Swoon Reads
Publication date: August 1st 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
Kissing Max Holden was a terrible idea…
After his father has a life-altering stroke, Max Holden isn’t himself. As his long-time friend, Jillian Eldridge only wants to help him, but she doesn’t know how. When Max climbs through her window one night, Jill knows that she shouldn’t let him kiss her. But she can’t resist, and when they’re caught in the act by her dad, Jill swears it’ll never happen again. Because kissing Max Holden is a terrible idea.
With a new baby sibling on the way, her parents fighting all the time, and her dream of culinary school up in the air, Jill starts spending more and more time with Max. And even though her father disapproves and Max still has a girlfriend, not kissing Max is easier said than done. Will Jill follow her heart and allow their friendship to blossom into something more, or will she listen to her head and stop kissing Max Holden once and for all?

 Excerpt 

Max gives Meredith a dubious look, then shovels an entire brownie into his mouth. He chews discerningly, then asks me, “Did you make these?”

“Obviously.” As if my stepmother is capable of such delicacies. “Kyle helped.”

“They’re incredible.” He grabs another before she pulls the plate out from under him. I roll my eyes at her back.

“The secret is to add a little coffee to the batter,” I tell him. “And for the chocolate chunks, I buy the best bars I can find. Belgian, usually. And cocoa powder—the darker the better. It makes the brownies much richer.” I’m rambling, I realize, about baked goods. I snap my mouth shut.

Max licks a bit of chocolate from his finger. Drunk Jillian has the almost overwhelming urge to point out that if he’s trying to be provocative, he’s succeeding.

“Oh, go on,” he teases. “I could listen to you talk desserts all night.”

Meredith glances at us, amused, and says, “Basement cleanup is going to take awhile. I’d better go supervise.” She totters down the stairs and starts giving instructions to Dad, Marcy, and Ivy, who was surely coerced into helping by her mother.

Max looks my way. “Well?”

We can’t hang out in the open. I wouldn’t mind disappearing behind the closed door of my bedroom, but Dad’s voice echoes in my head: I don’t want him in your room—not tonight, not ever. While I don’t care much about pleasing my father tonight, I don’t want him to slaughter Max.

An idea strikes, and I smile at my brilliance. “Come on.”

In an attempt to lead him down the hall, I stagger and shoulder the wall. He catches my hand and pulls me to a stop. Laughing, he says, “Who put that there?”

“Right? Stupid wall.”

He tucks a lock of hair behind my ear. “You really committed to getting crazy.”

“Thanks mostly to your mixology.”

“Yeah, well, it was cool having you as my partner in crime.” He glances at the ceiling and his face changes. He takes a slight step to the right, eyes alight. He gives a nod, indicating I should shift too. I do, confused but intrigued. He looks up again, meaningfully. I follow his gaze.

A sprig of green with waxy white berries, attached to the archway with a festive red bow.

“You know what this means?” Max asks slyly.

I give a laugh that comes out sounding more like a bark. “Mistletoe is a parasitic shrub,” I say, because that’s a fact he needs to know right now. “It’s also poisonous—eating it can make you really sick.”

“I’m not offering you a taste, Jillian.” And then, incredibly, “You don’t want to kiss me?"






Author Bio:
Katy Upperman is a graduate of Washington State University, a former elementary school teacher, and an insatiable reader. When not writing for young adults, Katy can be found whipping up batches of chocolate chip cookies, or exploring the country with her husband and daughter. Kissing Max Holden is her debut novel.

XBTBanner1

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

This Blog is Protected..

myfreecopyright.com registered & protected

Blogoversary

Get your own free Blogoversary button!

My Beautiful Blog was Designed by...

Ali's Bookshelf © 2011-present